Costa Rica says yes to marriage equality

The Costa Rican government have said yes to marriage equality!

The Inter-American Court of Human Rights (IACHR) said the countries it oversees should treat same-sex couples ‘without discrimination.’

The panel of seven judges issued a statement that said governments ‘must recognize and guarantee all the rights that are derived from a family bond between people of the same sex.’

Six of the seven judges said it was necessary for governments to ‘guarantee access to all existing forms of domestic legal systems, including the right to marriage.’

They explained this would allow ‘the protection of all the rights of families formed by same-sex couples.’

Costa Rica’s government said it would comply with the statement.

The twenty countries IACHR oversees are: Argentina, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Dominican Republic, Suriname and Uruguay.

The Costa Rican government asked for an advisory opinion in 2016 on whether it should extend property rights to same-sex couples.

They also asked whether they had an obligation to allow trans people to change their name and gender marker on identity documents.

Watch a video of the celebrations

Que sí… Que sí… La corte dijo sí ����

— David Zuiga (@daviiidez) January 10, 2018

Read more from Source: Costa Rica says yes to marriage equality


About Gay Today

Editor of Gay Today